Humor; Life; Life Lessons

Insurance Agents Hear All Kinds of Weird Stories

An unreal, unbelievable, truly funny story

Ken Kayse
7 min readOct 19, 2021

--

Photo by Tim Samuel from Pexels

One day, when I was still an insurance agency owner, I had just gotten off a rather long-winded teleconference with management about looking forward to planning for the new year. There was a caller waiting for me on line 1. It was one of my Insureds who needed to report an automobile claim but needed to explain what happened first.

The person calling was a personal friend of mine. I had met her and her husband at a Company function her employer held. She and Sue had worked together for several years until the Company eventually got bought. That was when they separated from working together, both having obtained different employment almost immediately.

This is one of those calls that is simply unforgettable in the life of an insurance agent. I am changing the name of the caller to protect her image.

I answered line 1 in my usual manner, “Hi, this is Ken. How may I help you?”

“Ken, it’s Agnes, are you sitting down?” she asked.

“Hey girl, what’s going on? Have you been hurt?” I asked, hoping she would say no.

--

--

Ken Kayse

When Life knocks you down, be a rubber ball and bounce up. I enjoy creativity and I love life! I write for fun and I live in the present. Try it you’ll like it.