History | Mental Health | Life Lessons | Government | Politics

Living With Post-Traumatic Stress

Writing about it, meditation, and a change of direction helps!

Ken Kayse
12 min readJun 26, 2021

--

Photo by petr sidorov on Unsplash

Before I start, a bit of background is in order: I have Post Traumatic Stress. I have had Post-Traumatic Stress since 1967, although I didn’t realize it until much later. My first counseling session didn’t happen until 1980.

This article is not about the details of what caused my post-traumatic stress. It was brought about by a variety of both life events, plus physical and emotional traumas I sustained while I served in the Army.

Today, my focus is devoted to showing others suffering from PTS the ‘coping skills’ I learned and use daily, to control what’s going on inside my brain. By repeating these techniques every single day, I can control my reactions to whatever incidents flood my mind at any moment.

After reliving, over and over again, so many terrible events that have happened, what could I possibly hope to accomplish by writing about them, especially so many years after they occurred?

I hope to show other sufferers how they can achieve more peace, self-awareness, and acceptance of who they are and what they can become by sharing my relief tactics…

--

--

Ken Kayse

When Life knocks you down, be a rubber ball and bounce up. I enjoy creativity and I love life! I write for fun and I live in the present. Try it you’ll like it.