What Are Your Limitations?

My brain thinks it’s 30 and my body says it’s over 70!

Ken Kayse
4 min readFeb 17, 2022
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Good grief! I just found out I am old! When in the hell did this happen? I knew it was going to happen… sometime, sooner or later. But I sure wasn’t expecting it to happen now!

How is it that old age creeps up on us when we know darn good and well it’s going to happen? In my teens, I could knock out 50 pushups in one sequence without working up much of a sweat.

Now in my 70s, I can still knock out 20 pushups a day — as long as I break them up into four sets of five pushups at different times of the day. But, when I’m finished, I have to take a quick shower to cool down and get the sweat off me. I’ve heard over-exertion can kill you!

What brought about this sudden revelation? A ladder! Of all the things that could have exposed my old-age weaknesses, I would never have thought falling off a five-foot ladder would be the culprit.

Here’s how it happened:

I was sitting in my office, surfing the web, when my wife came in and asked me if I could help her in the master bathroom. Recently, we moved to a new house, and she was full-on in the hanging-pictures phase of setting up our new nest. She mentioned she wanted me to “spot” her while she climbed a ladder to drive a nail…

--

--

Ken Kayse

When Life knocks you down, be a rubber ball and bounce up. I enjoy creativity and I love life! I write for fun and I live in the present. Try it you’ll like it.